Tuesday, October 06, 2009

CCD Inventors Win The Nobel PrizeI In Physics!

Willard Sterling Boyle and George Elwood Smith, who co-developed the first charge-coupled device (CCD) for image capture, have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics. They share the honour with physicist Charles Kuen Kao, who won the prize “for groundbreaking achievements concerning the transmission of light in fibres for optical communication”. For more info click here.